Philip W. Brickner National Leadership Award

Presented by the National Health Care for the Homeless Council


The Philip W. Brickner National Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have significantly strengthened service and/or advocacy that addresses the health status of people without homes.

At Saint Vincent’s Hospital Department of Community Medicine in New York City in the 1960s, Dr. Brickner pioneered the use of multi-disciplinary teams and outreach medicine to engage hard-to-reach populations and bring them into quality health care. The model of care was replicated in the 19-city Robert Wood Johnson/Pew Memorial Trust Health Care for the Homeless (HCH) Demonstration Program announced in December 1983, which Dr. Brickner directed. Through Dr. Brickner’s advocacy, this Program became the model for the federal HCH program created through the Stewart B. McKinney Homeless Assistance Act in 1987, which now comprises nearly 300 health centers across the United States.

As the only one bestowed by the Board of Directors of the National HCH Council, it is the Council’s most prestigious award.


Competitive nominees will be mid-to-late career professionals whose demonstrable work is characterized by:

  • Commitment to social justice
  • Compassion
  • Humility/servant leadership
  • Impact
  • Inclusiveness/teamwork/collaboration
  • Innovation
  • Intellect
  • Persistence


Only Individual Members of the National HCH Council or employees of Organizational Members are eligible both to be nominated and to submit nominations. Please contact Krista Myatt to make certain of your membership status.

Eligibility is not necessarily restricted to health center executives, and may include clinicians, consumers, program directors, or others. The significance and impact of nominees’ work supersede their discipline.

Selection Process

The 2019 process has not yet begun. However, please see last year’s timeline for your reference.

The Advancement Committee, a standing committee of the National HCH Council, will serve as the nominating committee and will prepare a slate of candidates for consideration by the Board of Directors. A single awardee will be chosen by the Board at its April 2018 meeting.

We hope to notify all nominators and the winner of the Board’s decision by April 27, 2018.

Nomination Materials

To nominate a candidate, please provide:

  1. this nomination form (follow link to download Word document);
  2. the CV or Resume of the nominee;
  3. a Letter of support from a peer or coworker; and
  4. a digital photograph of the nominee (for use at the award ceremony).

Email all nomination materials by Midnight Pacific Time on Friday, February 23, 2018, to Krista Myatt.

Additional Instructions

If you are unsure if your organization is a member, review the online list of members in good standing. If you are unsure of your Individual Membership status, you may submit another (free) application—your membership will not be duplicated if you already exist in our records.

Please ask us if you have any questions.

Previous Awardees

2018: John Parvensky, JD: CEO, Colorado Coalition for the Homeless

2017: Dr. Janelle Goetcheus, MD, Christ House; Unity Health Care

2016: James J. O’Connell, MD: President, Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program